PM names 21 unnamed Andaman & Nicobar islands after Param Vir Chakra Awardees

23 January, 2023 | Vaishali Sharma

modi National

21 major unidentified islands in Andaman and Nicobar were named after Param Vir Chakra recipients at a ceremony attended by PM Modi.

On the occasion of Parakram Diwas, twenty-one major unidentified islands in Andaman and Nicobar were named after Param Vir Chakra recipients at a ceremony attended by Prime Minister Narendra Modi. He also revealed a replica of Netaji’s National Memorial, which will be erected on Netaji Subhas Chandra Bose Dweep, formerly known as Ross Islands. Amit Shah, the Union Home Minister, was also present at the event in the Andaman and Nicobar Islands.

The largest unnamed island was named after the first Param Vir Chakra awardee, Major Somnath Sharma, who lost his life in action on November 3, 1947 while repulsing Pakistani infiltrators near Srinagar Airport.

“These islands have been named after the 21 Param Vir Chakra awardees, viz. Major Somnath Sharma; Subedar and Hony Captain (then Lance Naik) Karam Singh, MM; 2nd Lt. Rama Raghoba Rane; Nayak Jadunath Singh; Company Havildar Major Piru Singh; Capt GS Salaria; Lieutenant Colonel (then Major) Dhan Singh Thapa; Subedar Joginder Singh; Major Shaitan Singh; CQMH. Abdul Hamid; Lt Col Ardeshir Burzorji Tarapore; Lance Naik Albert Ekka; Major Hoshiar Singh; 2nd Lt. Arun Khetrapal; Flying Officer Nirmaljit Singh Sekhon; Major Ramaswamy Parameswaran; Naib Subedar Bana Singh; Captain Vikram Batra; Lt Manoj Kumar Pandey; Subedar Major (then Rifleman) Sanjay Kumar; and Subedar Major Retd (Hony Captain) Grenadier Yogendra Singh Yadav,” PMO further stated.

The Government had declared January 23 as Parakram Diwas in 2021 to commemorate the birth anniversary of Netaji Subhas Chandra Bose.

Keeping in mind the historical significance of the Andaman & Nicobar Islands and to honor the memory of Netaji, Ross Islands was renamed as Netaji Subhash Chandra Bose Dweep by the Prime Minister during his visit to the Island in 2018. Neil Island and Havelock Island were also renamed Shaheed Dweep and Swaraj Dweep.

“Giving due respect to the real-life heroes of the country has always been accorded the highest priority by the Prime Minister. Going ahead with this spirit, it has now been decided to name the 21 largest unnamed islands of the island group after 21 Param Vir Chakra awardees,” the statement from the PMO read.

The biggest nameless island will be named after the first Param Vir Chakra awardee, the second after the second Param Vir Chakra awardee, and so on.

This step will be an enduring homage to our soldiers, many of whom gave the ultimate sacrifice to safeguard the nation’s sovereignty and integrity.

Meanwhile, on the occasion of Netaji Subhas Chandra Bose’s birth anniversary, PM Modi, Lok Sabha Speaker Om Birla, Leaders of Parties in Lok Sabha and Rajya Sabha, Members of Parliament, Former Members of Parliament, and other dignitaries will pay floral tributes at the portrait of Netaji Subhas Chandra Bose in the Central Hall of Parliament House.