TN Elections 2021: DMK releases manifesto, promises cut in fuel prices, 75% jobs for locals

13 March, 2021 | newsx bureau

dmk 1 021033 JPZHf71J National

DMK on Saturday has released the party's poll manifesto for the upcoming Tamil Nadu Assembly elections. Cut in fuel prices, 12 month maternity leaves for women and jobs for locals are amongst the v...

DMK on Saturday has released its party’s manifesto for the upcoming Assembly elections in Tamil Nadu, which is going to be held on April 6 in the state. The party made a slew of promises, including computers and tablets with data cards for students and  75% of jobs in TN for locals. If voted to power, the party said that it will also bring down the rates of petrol by Rs 5 and diesel by Rs. 4 per litre. The manifesto also declared that the first generation graduates will be given preference in government jobs, small farmers will receive subsidies and reservation will be extended to employees in the private sector.

In the manifesto, DMK also promised an allocation of Rs 1000 crore towards the construction and renovation of Hindu Temples in the state as well as Rs. 100 crores for mosque and churches. Other assurances include reservation for women in government jobs, the establishment of ‘Kalaignar Unavagam’, eateries, hiking old-age pensions and financial assistance of Rs. 25000 to 1 Lakh persons going on pilgrimage to Hindu temples.

Also Read: #China5YearPlan:Xi Pushes for tech supremacy, rakes up controversial infrastructural plans

Also Read: Major blow to Imran Khan, UAE demands its $1 billion back from Pak

Earlier, the party had released its candidate list, whereby MK Stalin is all set to contest from Kolathur, while his son, actor-turned-politician Udhayanidhi, will fight from Chepauk-Triplicane. On the other hand, DMK’s Thanga Tamilselvan to take on O Panneerselvam in Bodinayakanur. 

DMK has been out of power since 2011 and is aiming to make a comeback by defeating AIAMDK and has attempted for a coalition comprising the Left, the Congress, MDMK, VCK and apportioning them 61 seats out of the 234. The DMK has allotted 25 seats to its ally Congress and six each for CPI, CPI (M) Viduthalai Chiruthaigal Katchi and MDMK. In total, 60 segments have been set apart for allies by the DMK.

Stalin had released its list of all 173 candidates for the elections and retained most of the MLAs namely Durai Murugan, K N Nehru, K Ponmudi and MRK Panneerselvam– all former ministers, besides others. He addressed a Press Conference at Anna Arivalayam, the DM Headquarters and announced that he would be filing nominations on March 15 and commence with the next leg of the campaign. 

The list of its candidates include: 

  1. MK Stalin – Kolathur
  2. Udhayanidhi – Cheupak
  3. P Thiyagarajan – Madurai central
  4. Thanga Tamilselvan – Bodi ( Against OPS)
  5. Sampath Kumar – Edappadi ( Against CM EPS)
  6. Anbil Mahesh – Thiruverumbur
  7. TRB Raja – Mannargudi
  8. Geetha Jeevan – Tuticorin

The DMK had yesterday signed a pact with Kongunadu Makkal Desiya Katchi, a western Tamil Nadu-based outfit that would contest in three Assembly segments on the Dravidian party’s ”Rising Sun” symbol. Many of the parties would be contesting on DMK’s Rising Sun Symbol with the lead partner been in fray in 187 seats, commented Stalin.

Also Read: Quad will remain an important pillar of stability in Indo-Pacific region: PM Modi