Today, Pakistan National Assembly to discuss no-confidence motion against PM Imran Khan

31 March, 2022 | Vaishali Sharma

According to Geo TV, the order was issued by the NA Secretariat on Wednesday night, with a discussion on the no-trust resolution against Pakistan's Prime Minister on the schedule for today's (Thurs...

During the Lower House Session, the Pakistan National Assembly will debate the no-confidence resolution against Pakistan Prime Minister Imran Khan at 4 p.m.

According to Geo TV, the order was issued by the NA Secretariat on Wednesday night, with a discussion on the no-trust resolution against Pakistan’s Prime Minister on the schedule for today’s (Thursday) session. On Monday, Pakistan Muslim League (PML-N) President Shahbaz Sharif filed a no-confidence motion against Pakistan’s Prime Minister. As a result of this action, Imran became the third Pakistani prime minister to face a no-confidence vote.

Following the resolution’s postponement, the deputy speaker stated that debate on the resolution will commence on March 31. “The meeting has been adjourned to 4 p.m. on March 31,” he remarked.

This is a significant event as Imran Khan’s political future hangs in the balance amid shifting power dynamics. During the session, Deputy NA Speaker Qasim Suri urged members of Parliament who supported the motion to stand up so that the total number of members who supported the motion could be tallied.

The Deputy NA speaker accepted the discussion on the no-confidence resolution after counting the members who voted in favour of it and set it for March 31, at 4 p.m. However, the resolution will be voted on between April 1 and April 4.

The no-confidence motion was filed on March 8, following the PPP’s protracted march through Islamabad. 

The opposition is sure that their motion will be successful since numerous PTI legislators have openly criticised Prime Minister Imran Khan.

The second round of local government elections in the remaining 18 districts of Khyber Pakhtunkhwa (KP) began earlier today.

The incumbent Pakistan Tehreek-e-Insaf (PTI) suffered a huge blow in the first round of the election, as opposition parties, particularly Jamiat Ulema-i-Islam-Fazl, earned a clear majority (JUI-F).

Meanwhile, the Pakistani government lost its majority in the lower chamber of the Pakistan parliament when the Muttahida Qaumi Movement-Pakistan (MQM-P) joined forces with the opposition to back them in the no-confidence move against Imran Khan, according to Geo TV.

The Pakistani National Assembly has a total of 342 members, with 172 constituting a majority. The PTI-led coalition was created with the backing of 179 members, but now that MQM-P has left the party, the PTI is standing with 164 members, while the opposition has 177 members in the national house and does not require the support of unhappy PTI MNAs.