UP Bypolls: BJP wins both seats on Akhilesh Yadav’s strongholds

27 June, 2022 | Pravina Srivastava

BJP won both the Rampur and Azamgarh Lok Sabha seats in the bypolls held in Uttar Pradesh

BJP won both the Rampur and Azamgarh Lok Sabha seats in the bypolls held in Uttar Pradesh. In the Rampur seat, BJP candidate Ghanshyam Singh Lodhi beat Samajwadi Party candidate Mohammad Asim Raja. However, in the Azamgarh constituency, BJP candidate Dinesh Lal Yadav Nirahua triumphed. Guddu Jamali, a candidate for the Bahujan Samaj Party in Azamgarh, put up a valiant battle and finished third. Both were regarded as strongholds of the Samajwadi Party.

The resignations of Akhilesh Yadav and Azam Khan from the seats of Azamgarh and Rampur, respectively, forced the need for the bypolls. Following their election to the Uttar Pradesh Legislative Assembly in the early-year elections, both leaders resigned as members of the Lok Sabha.

Yogi Adityanath, the chief minister of Uttar Pradesh, said on Sunday that the Bharatiya Janata Party’s victories in the byelections in Rampur and Azamgarh had conveyed a positive message about the 2024 General Elections.

“By-election victories have given the general elections in 2024 a positive message. People have demonstrated their faith in Prime Minister Narendra Modi’s double-engine administration. Casteist and communalist forces, known as “parivarvadis,” have received a clear message from the populace “declared Adityanath.

The by-election victories in Azamgarh and Rampur, according to Prime Minister Narendra Modi, are historic.

Later, Prime Minister expressed his appreciation for the support of the people. He also commended the work done by the Uttar Pradesh BJP party workers.

In addition to the three Lok Sabha seats in Uttar Pradesh’s Azamgarh, Rampur, and Sangrur, there were assembly by-elections in Tripura, Jharkhand, Andhra Pradesh, and Delhi.