UP civic body poll, bye-election results today; Counting of votes to start at 8am

13 May, 2023 | Vaishali Sharma

PTI05 04 2023 000031B A National

The civic body polls were held in 17 municipal corporations across the state, including the recently formed Shahjahanpur municipal corporation.

On Saturday, ballots for 12 local body elections and bye-elections to two assembly seats in Uttar Pradesh will be counted. UP civic body polls were held across the state in 17 municipal corporations, including the newly constituted Shahjahanpur municipal corporation.

While in Uttar Pradesh, bye-elections were held in the assembly constituencies of Suar and Chhanbey. Following the counting, Lucknow police increased security at all counting locations and prohibited the entry of phones or any type of weapon, according to a senior police officer on Friday.

“The counting of votes for the municipal elections will be held on Saturday. In this regard, elaborate security arrangements have been made by the Lucknow Police at all the counting centres. Phone or any type of weapon is not allowed to be taken to the counting centre by the counting agent and the candidate. Liquor shops will remain closed tomorrow,” said Aparna Rajat Kaushik, DCP Central Lucknow.

According to authorities, the counting of ballots will begin at 8 a.m., and all essential preparations have been made. UP voted in civic body elections in two stages, on May 4 and May 11.

The findings will determine the destiny of 83,378 individuals competing for 14,522 positions.
Voting took place in 37 districts, 9 divisions, and 10 municipal entities during the first phase. Voting takes place in 830 wards in 10 municipal corporations, with 9,699 polling locations and 2,658 polling stations set up.

Yogi Adityanath, the Chief Minister, has left no stone unturned in his campaign for party candidates, holding over 50 rallies, 28 rallies and conferences in the first phase and 22 in the second. UP currently has 16 municipal corporations, 14 of which were led by BJP mayors.

On Saturday, ballots for the Suar and Chhanbey assembly constituencies in Uttar Pradesh will be counted.
Apna Dal (Sonelal), the ruling coalition partner, is running for both seats.

The Suar assembly seat in Rampur district was declared vacant on February 13 when Abdullah Azam Khan, the son of prominent Samajwadi Party politician Azam Khan, was convicted to two years in prison in a 15-year-old case by a Moradabad court.

Read Also : #CongWinsKarnataka Live Updates: Congress wins southern state, BJP to ‘introspect’ setbacks

Follow us : Twitter