Cabinet Portfolio Announcement Update: These Six Former CMs Get Key Portfolios In Modi 3.0 Cabinet

Among the prominent figures sworn into the Modi 3.0 Cabinet were six former Chief Ministers, each entrusted with key portfolios crucial for India’s development trajectory.

With the commencement of a new government term, the Modi 3.0 administration has embarked on a significant reshuffle, allocating pivotal portfolios to its ministers. Among the notable developments is the inclusion of six former Chief Ministers in the Cabinet, signifying a strategic blend of experience and leadership. As 30 MPs took oath as Cabinet ministers at Rashtrapati Bhavan, the political landscape witnessed a transformation marked by seasoned veterans assuming crucial responsibilities.

The swearing-in ceremony at Rashtrapati Bhavan served as a grand spectacle, graced by heads of state, political luminaries, newcomers, business magnates, and even a sprinkle of stardust from the film fraternity. This event not only symbolized the democratic transition of power but also underscored the historical significance of Narendra Modi’s victory in the 2024 Lok Sabha elections. Modi’s feat of securing a third consecutive term draws parallels with the legacy of Jawaharlal Nehru, who also clinched victory in three consecutive general elections in 1952, 1957, and 1962.

Among the prominent figures sworn into the Modi 3.0 Cabinet were six former Chief Ministers, each entrusted with key portfolios crucial for India’s development trajectory. Let’s delve into the specifics of their appointments and the implications thereof:


  1. Rajnath Singh: As a stalwart of the Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP), Rajnath Singh continues his tenure as the Minister of Defence, a role he has adeptly fulfilled since 2014. His reappointment underscores the government’s commitment to national security and defence modernization. Singh’s electoral triumph in the Lucknow constituency for the third consecutive term reaffirms his popularity and credibility as a seasoned leader.
  2. Shivraj Singh Chouhan: Hailing from the heartland of India, Shivraj Singh Chouhan, the former Chief Minister of Madhya Pradesh, assumes a dual responsibility as the Minister of Agriculture and Farmers Welfare, along with the Ministry of Rural Development. With agriculture being the backbone of India’s economy and rural development being imperative for inclusive growth, Chouhan’s appointment reflects the government’s focus on addressing agrarian challenges and bolstering rural infrastructure.
  3. Manohar Lal Khattar: Transitioning from the helm of Haryana’s administration, Manohar Lal Khattar steps into the role of Minister of Power, Housing, and Urban Affairs. His vast experience in governance coupled with a vision for urban transformation positions him as a key player in driving initiatives aimed at enhancing energy accessibility, promoting affordable housing, and fostering sustainable urban development.
  4. Sarbananda Sonowal: The former Chief Minister of Assam retains his position in the Shipping sector, now entrusted with the Ministry of Ports, Shipping, and Waterways. Sonowal’s appointment underscores the government’s commitment to harnessing India’s vast maritime potential and bolstering connectivity through maritime infrastructure development.
  5. H D Kumaraswamy: Representing the Janata Dal (Secular) (JD(S)), H D Kumaraswamy, scion of former Prime Minister H D Deve Gowda, assumes the mantle of Minister for Steel. Additionally, he shoulders the responsibility of Heavy Industries, reflecting the government’s thrust on bolstering the manufacturing sector and fostering industrial growth. Kumaraswamy’s diverse experience and political lineage equip him to navigate the complexities of these sectors adeptly.
  6. Jitan Ram Manjhi: Leading the Hindustani Awam Morcha (HAM) and serving as the former Chief Minister of Bihar, Jitan Ram Manjhi is entrusted with the Ministry of Micro, Small, and Medium Enterprises (MSME). His appointment underscores the government’s commitment to empowering small businesses and fostering entrepreneurship, thereby driving job creation and economic resilience at the grassroots level.

ALSO READ: Agri Ministry For Shivraj, Housing For Khattar, Full List Of Portfolios In Modi 3.0

These appointments herald a new era of governance characterized by a harmonious blend of political acumen, administrative prowess, and sectoral expertise. Each minister brings to the table a unique set of skills and experiences, poised to contribute significantly to the realization of the government’s developmental agenda.

Key appointments include Annapurna Devi as the Women and Child Development Minister, Pralhad Joshi as the New & Renewable Energy Minister, and Manohar Lal Khattar as the Housing and Urban Affairs Minister. Former Bihar CM Jitan Ram Manjhi secures the MSME Ministry, while Rajiv Ranjan Singh takes on responsibilities for Panchayati Raj and Animal Husbandry.

Bandi Sanjay Kumar strengthens the Ministry of Home Affairs as the new Minister of State, while G. Kishan Reddy oversees the Ministries of Coal and Mines. RLD chief Jayant Chaudhary contributes to skill development and education as MoS, and Jitendra Singh returns with multiple portfolios, including Science and Tech and Earth Sciences.

Jual Oram, Giriraj Singh, Bhupendra Yadav, Gajendra Singh Shekhawat, and Hardeep Singh Puri also play crucial roles in tribal welfare, textiles, environment, culture and tourism, and petroleum, respectively. The new cabinet sets the stage for the government’s agenda, emphasizing inclusivity, resource management, and human capital development.

Furthermore, these appointments reflect a strategic balance between continuity and change, wherein seasoned leaders are retained while new faces are also introduced, ensuring a dynamic and inclusive governance framework. As the Modi 3.0 Cabinet sets its sights on navigating the myriad challenges and opportunities that lie ahead, these former Chief Ministers stand poised to play a pivotal role in shaping India’s trajectory of progress and prosperity.