Thursday, November 30, 2023

Congress Announces Second List of Candidates for Upcoming Chhattisgarh Assembly Polls

- Advertisement -

The Congress party has unveiled its second list of 53 candidates for the upcoming Chhattisgarh Assembly elections scheduled to be held in November in two phases.

The ruling party has chosen to re-nominate Arun Vora, the son of former Madhya Pradesh Chief Minister and senior Congress leader Motilal Vora, as their candidate for the Durg City constituency. Meanwhile, Chhaya Verma, a former member of the Rajya Sabha, has been granted a ticket to contest from the Dharsiwa constituency.

In a strategic move, the party has positioned Mahant Ram Sundar Das as the contender for the Raipur South City Assembly seat, where he will face off against the BJP heavyweight, Brijmohan Agrawal.

The upcoming Chhattisgarh Assembly elections will be conducted in two phases, with the first phase comprising 20 seats scheduled for November 7, and the remaining 70 seats set for polling on November 17.

Among the 53 candidates in today’s announcement, the Congress has nominated Gulab Singh Kamro for the Bharatpur-Sonhat – ST constituency, Ramesh Singh for Manendragarh, and Purshottam Kanwar for Katghora.

In a prior announcement on Sunday, the party revealed its first list of 30 candidates, positioning Chief Minister Bhupesh Baghel to contest from Patan and Deputy Chief Minister TS Singh Deo as the candidate for Ambikapur.

Vote counting in all the states is slated for December 3, with Chhattisgarh’s elections divided into two phases. The Model Code of Conduct has been implemented following the announcement of the election dates.

In the aftermath of the 2018 assembly polls, the Congress celebrated a resounding victory, securing 68 seats out of the 90 available, triumphing over the then-ruling BJP, which managed to secure only 15 seats.

Chhattisgarh, along with Madhya Pradesh and Rajasthan, stands as a significant battleground for the Congress and the Bharatiya Janata Party. Telangana, on the other hand, is anticipated to witness a three-way contest involving the ruling Bharat Rashtra Samithi, Congress, and the BJP.

The BJP is actively pursuing a shift in power from the Congress in Chhattisgarh, a development that could set the tone for the forthcoming 2024 Lok Sabha elections.

Also Read: Samajwadi Party Leader Azam Khan & Family Convicted in Fake Birth Certificate Case
Catch all the Latest Business NewsBreaking News Events, and Latest News Updates on NewsX

Latest news

Related news