Monsoon Session: PM Modi Set to Address Lok Sabha in Response to No-Confidence Motion

10 August, 2023 | Anupam Shrivastava

Lok Sabha World

Under parliamentary rules, any Lok Sabha MP with support from 50 colleagues can introduce a no-confidence motion against the Council of Ministers.

Prime Minister Narendra Modi is poised to address the Lok Sabha on Thursday as a rejoinder to the Opposition’s no-confidence motion targeting the NDA government. Defence Minister Rajnath Singh, affirming the Prime Minister’s attendance, stated on Wednesday, “The PM will be present in the House on Thursday to reply to the no-confidence motion.” Union Home Minister Amit Shah echoed this sentiment, confirming the Prime Minister’s presence for the response.

The opposition set in motion a no-confidence motion against the Modi government on July 26, an initiative accepted by Lok Sabha Speaker Om Birla. However, due to the substantial majority held by his Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP) and its allies, the Modi administration is expected to thwart the motion.

Under parliamentary rules, any Lok Sabha MP with support from 50 colleagues can introduce a no-confidence motion against the Council of Ministers. Subsequently, a deliberation on the motion occurs. MPs backing the motion spotlight the government’s inadequacies, while those on the Treasury Benches counter the raised concerns. Ultimately, a vote is held, and if successful, the government is compelled to relinquish power.

It’s noteworthy that the National Democratic Alliance (NDA) boasts a robust majority, with a total of 331 MPs, of which 303 belong to the BJP. In contrast, the combined strength of the Opposition bloc, known as I.N.D.I.A, amounts to 144 MPs, while unaligned parties contribute 70 MPs in the Lower House.

This marks the second instance of Prime Minister Narendra Modi encountering a no-confidence motion. The debate on the motion, instigated by Congress MP Gaurav Gogoi on Tuesday, later escalated into a heated exchange between the Opposition and the Centre.

In addition to this parliamentary matter, the agenda includes several legislative activities. Jitendra Singh is scheduled to elucidate the implementation status of recommendations outlined in the 336th Report of the Department-related Parliamentary Standing Committee on Science and Technology, Environment, Forest, and Climate Change. This report pertains to Demands for Grants (2020-21) concerning the Department of Scientific and Industrial Research (DSIR) under the Ministry of Science and Technology.

Ajay Bhatt is slated to address the implementation status of recommendations from the 313th Report of the Department-related Parliamentary Standing Committee on Transport, Tourism, and Culture. This report examines the “Promotion of Indian Tourism in Overseas Markets” and focuses on the role of Overseas Tourist Offices and Indian Embassies under the Ministry of Tourism.

Additionally, Arjun Kumar Meghwal will seek approval to introduce a Bill that aims to regulate the appointment, terms of service, and tenure of the Chief Election Commissioner and other Election Commissioners. This Bill also addresses the transaction of business by the Election Commission and related matters. Union Health Minister Mansukh Mandaviya will present a Bill for amending the Pharmacy Act, 1948, as passed by Lok Sabha.

In the realm of Lok Sabha, several ministries, including Road Transport and Highways, Civil Aviation, Power, Petroleum and Natural Gas, Finance, Housing and Urban Affairs, Women and Child Development, and AYUSH, are set to lay papers on the table. Furthermore, Arjun Ram Meghwal is expected to introduce a Bill for further amending the Advocates Act, 1961, as passed by Rajya Sabha, calling for its consideration and passage.

Also Read: RBI keeps Repo Rate Unchanged At 6.5%, Maintaining A Pause For The Third Consecutive Time