SAG Awards 2024 Highlights: 'Oppenheimer' Dominates, 'Succession' and 'The Bear' Secure Top TV Prizes

SAG Awards 2024 Winners: ‘Oppenheimer’ Takes Lead, ‘Succession’ and ‘The Bear’ Claim Top TV Honors

At the 30th Screen Actors Guild Awards on Saturday, “Oppenheimer” took home several statues, including best cast and supporting actor for Cillian Murphy’s and Robert Downey Jr.’s respective performances. Considered a front-runner for next month’s Academy Awards, the drama about J. Robert Oppenheimer and the creation of the atomic bomb was an unexpected hit at the box office last summer. With their final season of familial power struggles and backstabbing, the cast of HBO’s “Succession” won best ensemble in a drama series, while FX’s “The Bear,” a suspenseful look at restaurant life, took home the best comedy series ensemble award. It was an unpredictable evening filled with lots of f-bombs, guarantees, and surprises as several of thewinners gave candid speeches .

In an upset, “The Crown” star Elizabeth Debicki captured leading actress in a drama series for her chameleonic work as Princess Diana, while Pedro Pascal was a surprise winner for his performance as the survivor of a zombie apocalypse in “The Last of Us.” “Succession” stars Kieran Culkin and Sarah Snook had been heavily favored to win, and even Pascal seemed stunned by his victory. “I’m a little drunk,” he said. “I thought I could get drunk.” Debicki, who had no shoes on, admitted she also did not expect to hear her name called and hadn’t prepared a speech.

Some winners thought their victory was inevitable. For a second year running, Jeremy Allen White, who plays the smart but troubled chef at the heart of “The Bear,” won best actor in a comedy series. Best leading actress in a comedy went to White’s co-star Ayo Edebiri, who played a sous-chef with loftier culinary goals. For their efforts, the duo recently took home Golden Globe and Emmy awards. The best acting honors for a TV film or limited series went to Steven Yeun and Ali Wong, who co-starred in “Beef” as two strangers whose lives cross paths following a road rage incident. Not unlike White and Edebiri, the actors had won at the recent Emmys and Globes. It was only a few weeks ago.