Wednesday, November 29, 2023

Rivals say “Mar jaa Modi” while country says “Mat jaa Modi”: PM Modi

- Advertisement -

Prime Minister Narendra Modi slammed his political rivals in a speech to BJP workers gathered at the Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP) headquarters here on Thursday, saying that some people want to dig “Modi’s grave,” saying “Mar jaa Modi,” while the rest of the country is chanting “Mat jaa Modi” (Don’t go Modi).

The Prime Minister was greeted warmly at the BJP headquarters in the national capital after the results of three northeastern state assembly elections were announced on Thursday. In honor of the people of the northeast, PM urged the workers gathered to turn on their phones’ flashlights.

Launching a scathing attack on the opposition, the PM said, “At such a time, some people are aspiring to dig Modi’s grave. But wherever there is a chance, the lotus keeps on blooming…It keeps on blooming. Some people are engaged in identifying fanatics…They also do dishonesty with fanaticism. These fanatics say – ‘Mar jaa Modi…mar jaa Modi…Desh keh raha hai mat jaa Modi.”

PM Modi stated that the election results reflect people’s faith in democracy and that the Northeast is not far from Delhi or the heart.

Addressing party workers at BJP headquarters, PM Modi said, “The Northeast is neither far from Delhi nor from our hearts. The election results depict people’s faith in democracy. I humbly thank the people of Tripura, Nagaland, and Meghalaya. These people have blessed the BJP and its allies. Besides, I congratulate the BJP workers of these three states. It is not easy to work in the northeast, and therefore a special thank is due to them.”

The PM stated that today’s results are the result of the hard work of all BJP workers. He stated that today’s election and the results have many messages for the country and the world.

In reference to earlier times, PM Modi said, “There was not much discussion in Delhi and other parts of the country when the results were out from the northeast region. The discussion was about the violence during the elections.”

The PM stated that winning the hearts of the people of the northeast is a significant victory for him. He stated that the time has come for the northeast region to experience peace, prosperity, and development.

“By frequently visiting the northeast, I won their heart. And it is a big win for me. I was satisfied that the people of the northeast are no longer ignored. It is a time to create new history. When I visited the northeast recently, someone congratulated me on the half-century. When I inquired about it, I was told that I had visited the northeast 50 times,” he said.

According to the Prime Minister, the BJP established a new political model in India. For the BJP, the country and its people come first. Attacking the Congress party, PM Modi said, “Today’s results have exposed Congress’s thinking about the northeast. Congress claimed that these are small states and insignificant. It is an insult to the mandate and the people of the northeast states.”

With the announcement of the Tripura Assembly election results on Thursday, the Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP) reclaimed power in the state with an absolute majority. The Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP) won 32 seats with a vote share of around 39%, according to the Election Commission of India. Tipra Motha Party finished second with 13 seats. The Communist Party of India (Marxist) received 11 seats, while the Congress received three. The Indigenous People’s Front of Tripura (IPFT) was successful in gaining one seat.

The CPI(M) and the Congress, arch rivals in Kerala, joined forces in the Northeast this time to depose the BJP. CPI(M) and Congress’ combined vote share remained around 33%. Manik Saha, the Chief Minister, defeated Congress’ Asish Kumar Saha in the Town Bordowali seat by a margin of 1,257 votes. The majority mark in Tripura’s 60-member assembly is 31.

The BJP, which had never won a single seat in Tripura prior to 2018, stormed to power in the last election in alliance with the IPFT, deposing the Left Front, which had ruled the border state for 35 years since 1978. The BJP ran in 55 seats, while its ally, IPFT, ran in six. However, both allies ran candidates in the Gomati district’s Ampinagar constituency.

The Left ran for 47 seats, while Congress ran for 13. The CPM ran for 43 of the 47 available seats, while the Forward Bloc, Communist Party of India (CPI), and Revolutionary Socialist Party (RSP) each ran for one. The CPI(M)-led Left Front ruled the state for nearly four decades, with a brief period when the Congress was in power between 1988 and 1993, but now both parties have joined forces to depose the BJP.

In Nagaland, the BJP won 12 seats, the Nationalist Democratic Progressive Party (NDPP) won 25, and the Nationalist Congress Party (NCP) won seven. The National People’s Party (NPP) received five seats. The Naga people Front, the Lok Janshakti Party (Ram Vilas), and the Republican Party of India (Athawale) each received two seats. The Janata Dal (United) of Nitish Kumar received one seat.

The Nagaland Assembly has a 31-seat majority.

The National People’s Party (NPP) won 26 seats in Meghalaya, the United Democratic Party (UDP) 11 seats, and the Trinamool Congress five seats. The BJP, the People’s Democratic Front, and the Hill State People’s Democratic Party all won two seats. Congress received five seats, while the Voice of the People Party received four. Independent candidates won two seats.

Latest news

Related news