Labours, Sanitation Workers, Transgenders Invited As Special Guests At PM Modi's Swearing-in Ceremony

The swearing-in ceremony of Narendra Modi as Prime Minister is set for Sunday evening following his selection as the leader by his allies at a significant meeting in Delhi.

Prime Minister-elect Narendra Modi is scheduled to take the oath of office at the Rashtrapati Bhawan in New Delhi, tonight, at 7:15 PM. As preparations for the ceremony are in full swing, speculation persists regarding the composition of Modi’s third-term Cabinet. This phase of Modi’s tenure commences with a delicate balancing act, as he navigates between BJP leaders victorious in the elections and the crucial allies who have contributed to the NDA’s success in surpassing the halfway mark of 272 seats. Key allies such as JD(U), TDP, LJP, RLD, and Apna Dal have played pivotal roles in supporting the BJP-led NDA government of 2024.

Additionally, it’s reported that sanitation workers, transgender individuals, and laborers involved in the Central Vista Project will be honored as special guests at the swearing-in ceremony. Railway employees engaged in the Vande Bharat and Metro trains, along with beneficiaries of various central government schemes, have been invited as “Viksit Bharat ambassadors” to attend the ceremony, which will take place at the Rashtrapati Bhavan on Sunday evening.

Also Read: Modi’s Ambitious “400 Paar” Happened Only Once In History, Know When

Modi is renowned for his multifaceted approach and innovative methods. His upcoming oath-taking ceremony reflects this diversity, with hundreds of invitees spanning various fields. Alongside political figures from both the ruling and opposition parties, there will be notable personalities from the film and sports industries, as well as prominent industrialists and business leaders. This inclusive gathering underscores Modi’s commitment to engaging with a wide spectrum of society.

Preparations are underway to accommodate over 8,000 guests at Rashtrapati Bhavan, according to sources.

Several South Asian leaders have been invited to attend the ceremony, with Bangladesh Prime Minister Sheikh Hasina and Sri Lankan President Ranil Wickremesinghe already confirming their attendance. Invitations have also reportedly been extended to Nepal PM Pushpa Kamal Dahal ‘Prachanda’, Bhutan PM Tshering Tobgay, and Mauritius PM Pravind Jugnauth.

Notably, during Mr. Modi’s previous swearing-in ceremonies in 2014 and 2019, leaders from SAARC and BIMSTEC countries were present, respectively.

This will mark Narendra Modi’s third consecutive term as Prime Minister, making him the second Indian leader to achieve this after Jawaharlal Nehru.

Following the results of the 2024 Lok Sabha elections, in which the BJP saw a reduction in seats from 303 to 240, and the BJP-led NDA decreased from 352 to 293 seats, alliances are crucial for forming the government. The BJP is counting on its allies, notably the Telugu Desam Party led by Chandrababu Naidu and Janata Dal-United led by Nitish Kumar, to secure a majority.